Add equals() method to the String class?

I'm fairly new to web dev and my expertise is in C/C++, Java, and Python. I am perplexed by the complexity of comparing two strings in JavaScript. Look no further than stackoverflow. Because I come from a C/C++/Java background, I oftentimes wonder why JavaScript doesn't have a ".equal()" method like Java and other languages.

In my opinion, it seems like a no-brainer decision considering that one of JavaScript's founding principles was to have a degree of familiarity with other programming languages. Furthermore, adding one of the above methods will temporarily solve the "===" and "==" confusion that is rampant in the JavaScript community. It has potential to save programmers from costly bugs that can result from the confusion between "==" and "===".

Example:

var drink = "coffee";
if (drink.equals("coffee")) {
    document.write(true);
}

Because it doesn't need one :-) Python has none either, btw - for slightly different reasons though.

I disagree. On the contrary, it will add to the confusion, now having three choices instead of two. "How is a.equals(b) different from a === b?", everyone will ask. Different Unicode handling perhaps?

I thought that problem was long solved, by simply recommending to always use ===. (At least until the difference is understood and one knows when == is safe).

2 Likes

strings follow value equality rules in js, so we can use the triple equal to compare it. java has that because strings are objects in java, iirc.

double equal is due to some historic reasons, that we don't really think about anymore. Linters, IDEs, Typescript will remind you not to use that.