Feature Idea: In place identifier for Magic Numbers

Hi! this is my first time here, really enjoying this place.

When debugging code, you may encounter a lot of magic numbers in your code base, when writing code yourself you may just want to get something working without having to declare a variable as such

const NAMED_ID = "some-value"

or perhaps worry about where to place said variable. However, you may want to leave a hint for yourself.

A magic number may be self explanatory depending on the context, they are certainly not most of the time.

I always taught, especially for readability and debugging purposes, defining an in place name for a magic number based on context would be an awesome thing to have in the language.

For example:

if (value > 3) return 'done';

would become

if (value > IN_PLACE_NAME_3) return 'done';

The in place name would be a valid identifier concatenated to the magic value. That could be done the following ways:

• IDENTIFIER_value (note the underscore)
  • IDENTIFIER=value (in place assignment, I don't necessary like it)
  • IDENTIFIER_(value) (too close to a function, maybe)

Additionally, when debugging a function, class, module and such, you may find magic numbers that are the same value, but may not know what they all mean individually. They may be indicating the same thing, they may not. An in place name allows for "quick per context naming" that does not involve having to declare constants that have the same value or one constant with a name that may not inform much in different contexts.

This is roughly my idea. Would appreciate any help to formulate it better.
Feel free to break it apart and provide feedback.

This reminded me of Numeric Literal Suffixes, though with the required setup, you'd likely be better off just creating a const.

2 Likes

how is this better than "a comment" or "an actual variable"?

2 Likes

Actually, this idea does intrigue me a bit. Let me generalize it a bit.