More language deprecations and fewer new features

I am reposting this from github tc39 issues and am including the admin comment plus my response to it. I doubt I am the first person to mention this issue but hopefully there will be others that are equally concerned about how complex javascript and its environment (xmlhttprequest, dom etc) has become.

tldnr; We need to move javascript from cisc to risc or it will collapse under the weight of its increasing complexity (sorry for the mixed metaphor)

This is an overall observation of the state of ECMA/Javascript as it exists in 2020 and an identification of a process/ decision making bug.

I am a many years javascript developer and I am very concerned that the language not only needs babel to translate from previous versions but has become a tower of babel itself.

Please allow me to explain:

As it stands right now as far as i can tell there are many distinct ways to code closure capable methods in javascript. (function(){})(), prototype, class and Object, {}

There are also many ways to glue data together (prototype, properties, proto ,[], {}, set, map, Object, Function ...)

In addition there are an increasingly complex set of mechanisms to iterate over objects or to make arrays and objects play nice with each other.

Furthermore there are now many ways to handle asynchronous data. (xmlhttprequest), function generators, async and promises (kind of).

And we have traditional iteration through "for" and "while" , with new iteration with map and forEach and others

This is compounded with branching statements like if then else, case , ternary operators && ?? || etc.

Then on top of all of this is typescript which turns javascript nearly as brittle as java with apparent actual value only to those who have not mastered the language.

All i can say as an experienced developer is UNCLE :)