Proposal: Command Syntax

I am new to the proposal process but have 2 related ideas (second idea here) I would like to present for consideration. This one was born out of my strong affinity for the goodness of the Command-Query Separation principle.

Proposal: Command Syntax for JavaScript

This is the first group to which I am presenting the idea. I figured it was a good place to start. Your feedback is welcome.

Thank you for your thoughtful consideration.

I agree it can be valuable to know which functions are "commands" and which are "queries".

I don't necessarily agree that it should be considered a bad practice for command functions to return values (yes, I know I'm going against the common teaching here). The reason why it's "bad" for commands to return values is because it indicates that the command is doing multiple things at once, and it would be better to divide the function in two, having the caller first use the command function then the query function. At best, we can think of this as a slight code smell, indicating that something may (or may not) be off in the code we're looking at. I feel it's unwise to elevate this to anything more than that (and try to actively discourage it in any way). There's two reasons for this:

1. It has tons of false positives. There are many, many good examples of times where command functions need to return information (i.e. for performance reasons, or race-condition reasons, or something else). Trying to enforce a command-should-not-return rule would just cause way too much friction, and maybe even create problems of its own (i.e. people are actively creating race conditions more often than normal, because they're trying to separate queries from commands).