Proposal for Array.prototype.count

I frequently find myself needing to know how many items in an array meet a specific condition. There are already prototype functions like every and some which can tell you if a member/all members of the array meet a condition, but not exactly how many members do.

To solve this problem, I would like to propose an addition to the Array prototype called count. Array.prototype.count would accept a callback function as its only argument. For each member of the array it would call the callback function, passing that member as an argument, and return the number of elements of the array for which the callback function returns truthy. In all cases, array.count(fn) would be equivalent to array.reduce((acc, curr) => acc + fn(curr) ? 1 : 0, 0).

I'm new to the proposal process, so any advice or next steps would be greatly appreciated!

1 Like

What about just doing array.filter(<your condition>).length?

Admittedly, that is a bit cleaner than my reduce, but it does come with the overhead of creating a new array.

To compare to some existing Array methods, array.some(<condition>) could also be expressed as array.filter(<condition>).length > 0 but I think people found value in wrapping that functionality into a single method, and I would make the same argument here.

One common first step is to demonstrate that the problem being solved is a common one. For example, showing the number of times this pattern appears across open source projects, or how many downloads an equivalent library has.

There is a difference here though. array.some(<condition>) will stop iterating over the array as soon as the something returns true. array.filter(<condition>).length > 0 will always iterate over the whole array. The browser can't optimize this behavior (and iterate less often), because it doesn't know if your <condition> is also performing side-effects.