What is the Unicode Default Case Conversion algorithm?

I'm working on a streaming regex engine and I want to understand what the i flag does (when the u flag is not also present). I'm looking at this section of the spec which mentions the "Unicode Default Case Conversion algorithm" but does not define it.

Ah I think I found it in the unicode spec. Doesn't really help me, but I guess for my purposes what's under the hood is complex enough that I should stick with String.fromCharCode(c).toUpperCase().charCodeAt(0).