Performance and Intellectual Property

I have been designing web sites since 1993, back in the days of NCSA Mosaic, and so long before Mr. Eich donated his language to the community. I am frustrated that after three decades there does not seem to be an alternative to JavaScript which addresses my primary issues: performance and protection of intellectual property. Back in the 90s I could write code in Java to be executed in a browser, but this capability was eliminated, so I now feel intensely frustrated that I am limited by the capabilities of JavaScript, even if I would like to use a more secure, higher performance, language. I greatly appreciate the improvements introduced since ES2015, but the basic language remains IMHO severely deficient. Why has there been no significant improvement in over 25 years?

Hi!
I fail to see what JavaScript has to do with intellectual property. When you write code, you own the copyright on it, and may be able to file patents for your inventions, no matter what language you are using.

You might be looking for web assembly though, which is bytecode running in the browser, just like your 90s Java Applet (but without the security problems).

That’s clearly subjective; most of us feel there has been.

As for performance, not only is JS incredibly fast, but WASM exists if you need more perf than JS offers.

For “protection of intellectual property”, i believe that a license is the most effective means of doing this with any program that executed on someone else’s machine - what do you suggest a language could do about this?

1 Like