Unions

Hi,

When I started programming this made a lot of sense to me...

if (foo && bar && baz === 1) {
  // ...
}

At first glance, we read it as "if foo and bar and baz are 1 then do this". Unfortunately, that's not how things work.

To implement this logic we need to do...

if (foo === 1 && bar === 1 && baz === 1) {
  // ...
}

I propose a way to do something like the first example using what I call "unions".

Logical AND Union

foo ~& bar ~& baz === 1

Logical OR Union

foo ~| bar ~| baz === 1

Side Notes

• Unions can't be used as stand-alone expressions, they can only get along with comparison operators.

• Unions are just syntactic sugars over my second example.

• I used ~& instead of just & because who-knows-why they're valid JS.

Let me know what you think :blush:

1 Like

I agree - that's certainly an easy place for beginners to trip up on.

I'll point out another possible solution.

For the "~|" syntax, the python language does this instead, which I know some people like:

1 in [foo, bar, baz]

Currently, in JavaScript, you can do [foo, bar, baz].includes(1) to get similar behavior.

I remember seeing another thread floating around, proposing to add an "of" operator that's pretty much a shorthand for .includes() - but I can't remember where it is.

None of this really helps to solve the "~&" case. For that scenario, it might feel more natural to be able to write something like a === b === c - this is also a syntax with python supports - it's too late to support that in Javascript though, because it already has a different meaning.

2 Likes

Is there another language where comparisons work this way that informed your expectation?

The similar behavior would be [foo, bar, baz].every(x => x === 1), to ensure that all three of them were 1.

2 Likes

English :)